本地SEO的概念

SEO(搜索引擎优化)是数字营销中不停变化的一个领域,搜索算法的更新,用户用途的变化和技术的迭代让非专业从事SEO的群体很难真正把握SEO。在数字营销的大家族下有不同的分支:SMM(社交媒体营销)、PPC(点击付费广告)和SEO(搜索引擎优化)。很多人没有意识到的是SEO(搜索引擎优化)已经自成体系,SEO之下已经有很多分支。
本地SEO(搜索引擎优化)是这些分支中的一个。从前的SEO公司会更多关注整体的SEO(搜索引擎优化),但随着移动搜索的兴起,向本地SEO的转变非常显著。那本地SEO究竟是什么,它的重要之处又在哪里呢?

本地SEO是什么?

简单来说,本地SEO根据用户当前位置向他们提供相关搜索结果,而普通SEO更多关于宽泛的话题。比如说,如果你搜索“会计”,搜索结果可能是国外的会计和会计师。本地SEO搜索词汇像“多伦多 会计”会得到大多伦多地区的会计页面。

本地SEO为何重要?

搜索引擎优化(SEO)最重要的就是出现在搜索结果里。对于搜索引擎算法和用户搜索来说,向本地SEO的转变已经发生了。只进行一般SEO的话,就好比完全没有进行SEO。本地SEO意味着您的网站会被真正有可能使用您的服务的人群看到。如果您是在多伦多的会计,何必耗费力气吸引在美国的人群呢?

如何达到本地搜索最优化?

幸运的是,有一些简单的步骤可以让您的网站对本地搜索更友好。您需要做或者说确保您的SEO公司完成的是,在Google Places认领您的公司页面。更新您的联系信息和地址,这样可以让您出现在Google的地图和搜索中。
站内的本地SEO同样重要。在页面标题、标签和meta标签里加上您的目标位置信息或者在联系信息页面嵌入有公司地址的地图都可以提升本地SEO排名。在SEO内容方面,在普通关键词之上着重关注本地SEO关键词。针对“多伦多 会计”,而不仅仅是“会计”,这会大幅提高您的一般和本地SEO排名。
SEO的一个方面是外部链接,也就是在有有信誉的导航和网站上创建公司资料,并链回您自己的网站。让外部链接对本地SEO有效,您仅需要在这些资料上加上您的地址。这是一个简单却被很多人忽视的步骤。

结论

将本地SEO纳入现有的SEO或数字营销计划并不困难,仅需要一些简单的调整和修改。本地SEO前所未有的重要。如果您想更多了解本地SEO或者想对您的网站进行SEO审计,现在就联系我们。

本文由Hilborn Digital原创及翻译,如需转载,请标明出处。

关注Hilborn Digital微博:@HilbornDigital 微信公众号:HilbornDigital ,阅读更多SEO原创内容

Search Engine Optimization is an every changing field of digital marketing. Algorithm updates, shifting user usage, and newer techniques mean that it can be hard to ever get a firm grasp on SEO unless you’re in the business. Under the large umbrella that is digital marketing there are separate branches- social media marketing (SMM), paid per click ads (PPC), and SEO. What many people don’t realize is that SEO is an umbrella of its own, housing smaller divisions beneath if.

Local SEO is one of these smaller divisions. In the past SEO companies have focused heavily on general SEO. But as mobile searching is rising there has been a shift towards local SEO. So what is local SEO and more importantly why does it matter?

What is it?

Basically, local SEO is about providing users with relevant search results based on their current location. General SEO about more about broad topics. The problem with general SEO though is that while it might be topically relevant to the search that doesn’t mean it’s accessible. For example, if you search “accounting” you might get results to accounting and accountant pages that aren’t even in your country. A local SEO search would be “Toronto accounting” which would give results for accounting pages in the GTA.

For businesses like restaurants and shops, Google has already integrated local SEO. Now adding a location to the search isn’t necessary, as Google will automatically provide results based on your location. The results only get more accurate with mobile searching. In fact, four out of five people who mobile searching to look up local information.

Why Is It Important?

SEO is all about getting seen in search results. The shift towards local SEO both in terms of search engine algorithms and user searching is already happening. Having only general SEO means that might as well not have SEO at all. Local SEO will mean that your website will get seen and by people that will actually use your services. If you’re a Toronto accountant why bother attracting people in the US?

More than ever before people are looking for local results. Search engines have replaced the physical phone book and yellow pages. 64% of local customers used search engines as their main source of finding local businesses and 46% of all Google searches are local. If you don’t appear in local search results then you are missing out on a massive user base.

How To Optimize For Local Searching?

Luckily, there are a few easy steps towards making your website more local searching friendly. The first thing you should do or make sure your SEO company does is claim your Google Places for Business page. Update your contact information and location so that you appear on Google maps and searches.

Having on-page local SEO is important too. Have the targeted location in title pages, tags, and in the meta description of the page. Embedding a map of your location on your contact page will also help with your local SEO ranking. On the content side of SEO, focus on local keywords in addition to general ones. Instead of targeting just “accounting” try targeting “Toronto accounting”. This will boost both your general and local SEO ranking.

An aspect of SEO is external links. That means making profiles and linking back to your website on reputable directories and sites. To make external linking local SEO friendly simply add your address to these profiles. It’s a simple step that many people don’t do.

Conclusion

Integrating local SEO into an existing SEO or digital marketing plan isn’t that difficult. All it takes is some slight adjustments and mortifications. Local SEO is more important than every before. Contact us today if you’re interested in learning more about local SEO or would like an SEO website audit.